Multiple Teams · Girls Win Sectionals; Boys 2nd Behind Opelika

Homewood’s girls and boys track and field teams will attempt to repeat their championship performances from last year next weekend at the AHSAA State State Championships.  Athletes and relay teams first had to earn a spot for the State meet by qualifying at Sectionals.  The girls track and field teams had another impressive showing this weekend by winning the 6A Section 3 Championships at Mountain Brook.  Kiara Williams led Homewood by winning the long jump, triple jump, and the 300m hurdles.  Her long jump of 19 feet 8.25 inches is currently 9th in the U.S.  Elysa Griffin placed 2nd in the 100m, 200m, and long jump.  Ann Mosely Whitsett won the 800m and placed 2nd in the 400m.  Twenty girls qualified for the State Championships next weekend in Gulf Shores.  Lainey Phelps (pole vault), Sarah Blake (javelin), and Dejane Hester-Taylor (high jump) all won their events.  The girls 4x400m team of Griffin, Whitsett, Joy Korley, and Hunter Midgett won by running a 4:02 and also broke the school record.

The boys team finished 2nd behind Opelika, and Homewood and Opelika will likely battle it out next weekend at the State Championships.  Several athletes had outstanding performances in multiple events.  Alazae Hester-Taylor won triple jump and was 2nd in 110m hurdles, 300m hurdles, and the high jump. Andy Smith had three 2nd place finishes in the 800m, 1600m, and 3200m.  Dominique Linson (high jump), Lawton Dorough (long jump), Logan Sadler (800m), and Jake Vella (pole vault) all had event wins.  The boys 4x100m relay team of Tommy Donaldson, Dorough, Linson, and Teverius Lindsey and the 4x800m relay team of Sadler, Sean Conboy, Pierce Jackson, and Paul Selden both won.  18 members of the boys team qualified for the State meet next weekend.

Here is a complete list of those who qualified.

Sarah Blake (javelin, discus)

Sarah Crocker (javelin)

Hanna Brook Gibbons (3200m)

Virginia Givhan (4x800m)

Elysa Griffin (100m, 200m, LJ, 4x400m)

Jasmine Griffin (100m, 200m, 4x100m)

Dejane Hester-Taylor (HJ)

Christian Hill (HJ, LJ, TJ, 4x100m)

Celie Jackson (3200m)

Madison Kirkwood (100m H, 300m H)

Joy Korley (4x400m)

Caroline Lawrence (HJ)

Hunter Midgett (400m, 300m H, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Lainey Phelps (1600m, 3200m, PV)

Makiyah Sills (4x100m)

Edie Smith (4x800m)

Simone Smith (Shot Put)

Mary Virginia Spencer (4x800m)

Ann Mosely Whitsett (400m, 800m, 4x400m, 4x800m)

Kiara Williams (LJ, TJ, 100m H, 300m H)


Sean Conboy (4x800m, 4x400m)

Patrick Domingo (Jav, 110m H)

Tommy Donaldson (4x100m)

Lawton Dorough (100m, LJ, 4x100m)

Alazae Hester-Taylor (HJ, TJ, 110m H, 300m H)

Gage Hevey (4x400m)

Pierce Jackson (4x800m Alt.)

Teverius Lindsey (100, HJ, 4x100m)

Dominique Linson (HJ, 200m, 4x100m)

Alex Ngei (3200m)

Hunter Poole (800m, 1600m, 3200m, 4x800m)

Logan Sadler (800m, 1600m, 4x400m, 4x800m)

Paul Selden (4x800m Alt.)

Andy Smith (800m, 1600m, 3200m, 4x800m)

Jake Vella (PV)

Jackson White (PV)

Tucker Wilson (300m H, 400m, 4x400m)

John Yarbrough (SP)